School Christmas Parties…

Each school year, the parents are asked to sign up to organize a holiday party. I signed up for the Christmas party in Crawford’s class and the St. Patricks Day party in Camp’s. It’s a little hard to plan a game for a bunch of 2-3 year olds, so the party mom’s and I planned a snack, craft and to read a few Christmas books.

I was in charge of the craft and reading 2 stories. There are so many crafty ideas to choose from with Pinterest around. I ended up using a photo for a wreath as my inspiration. I got 200+ clothes pins and covered the tops with festive coordinating paper. Next, I bent covered floral wire into circles with a hook on the top to hang. I bagged them up and the kids put all of the clothes pins on the circle. Pinching the clothes pins was a great manipulative for Crawford’s age. The end result didn’t really look like a wreath, but was a cute ornament anyway! The kids had fun, and that’s what mattered.

I think Crawford was excited to have me at school with him. He has such a fun time with his friends there and his teachers are great! πŸ™‚

Here’s a photo of most of their class. Trying to get that many 2-3 year olds ready for a photo was next to impossible!! πŸ™‚

Most of the class holding their ornament craft.
Most of the class holding their ornament craft.

Crawford eating his snack (He looks very underwhelmed!) haha.

DSC_0327

The next week, on Sunday, one of the mamas in Camp’s class called me and asked if I could provide a sweet snack for their Christmas party. The parent who had snack had a stomach bug and was encouraged not to send anything. I was happy to help, but didn’t have time to bake that day. I am so glad I have Monday and Friday off so I am able to participate in activities and parties for the boys!

I ended up buying Rice-Krispy Treats, putting a long sucker stick into them, melting chocolate that I kept warm in a crock pot, and fun toppings. The kids dipped their Rice-Krispy Treats into the chocolate and then dipped into candy canes mashed up, chocolate chips, marshmallows and lots of sprinkles. It was a fun treat and because it was potentially messy to eat, they enjoyed them on the playground after they dried πŸ™‚

DSC_0362

They played a few games and decorated a ginger bread Β man ornament during the party too! πŸ™‚

DSC_0371

Camp was super excited I was at school with him. He wanted me to sit next to him and do everything right with him the entire party. I know one day he may ask me to drop him off so nobody sees me with him, so for now I am going to enjoy every moment! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

